About the Lysimeter Research Group

Main activities

The LRG supports scientific meetings, mainly the Lysimeter conferences in Raumberg-Gumpenstein (Styria, Austria), and organizes excursions to lysimeter stations and related research sites around Europe. Furthermore, the LRG provides a website including the European lysimeter platform to foster learning and collaboration between lysimeter researchers.

Main intention

The main intention of the LRG is advancing scientific and educational exchange in the field of lysimetry and related research areas on an international level.


The Lysimeter Research Group (LRG) was established in 1992 as a registered nonprofit association with free membership (ZVR-Nr. 806128239, Austria). The LRG is organized as an executive board and an international scientific advisory board.

Lysimeter conferences
Lysimeter platform

Lysimeter platform


Webinar 8. Umweltökologisches Symposiumclose

Program and online registration

created on 21. March 2022

Program & Registrationmore_vert
Program & Registrationclose

Program and online registration

created on 17. March 2021

In memoriam Eduard Klaghofermore_vert
In memoriam Eduard Klaghoferclose

It is with deep regret that we announce the passing of our esteemed colleague and honorary member Hofrat Univ.Prof.DI Dr. Eduard Klaghofer. He deceased end of May 2020 at the age of 76.

created on 10. June 2020

Lysimeter workshop by UGT & ICTmore_vert
Lysimeter workshop by UGT & ICT


Flyer   Program

created on 29. January 2020

New lysimeter station in Chinamore_vert
A brief introduction to the lysimeter facility of Shapotou Station in Chinaclose

Prof. Zhishan Zhang is pleased to announce the start of operation of their new lysimeter station in June 2019, after three years of construction. It mainly consists of 36 large weighing lysimeters with a diameter of 2.25 m and a depth of 3.35 m, and a mobile greenhouse equipped with 12 rainfall simulators.

created on 7. January 2020


The conference (in German): 7. Umweltökologisches Symposium "Oberflächengewässerschutz" was held as online webinar

further information

updated on 10. June 2020

Prof. Meißnerclose

We thank Prof. Dr. Ralph Meißner for his engagement in the lysimeter research group for many years.

Executive Boardmore_vert
New Executive Boardclose

With great pleasure we would like to announce the new executive board.

18th Lysimeter Conference (May 21-22, 2019)more_vert
18th Lysimeter Conferenceclose

Thank you for joining the 18th Lysimeter conference. We are looking back to a successful conference with interesting presentations and discussions.


Executive Board

  • President
    Reinhard NOLZ
    Universität für Bodenkultur Wien, Institut für Bodenphysik und landeskulturelle Wasserwirtschaft, Muthgasse 18, 1190 Wien
    Contact: reinhard.nolz@boku.ac.at
  • Vice President
    Andreas BAUMGARTEN
    Agentur für Gesundheit und Ernährungssicherheit GmbH, Institut für Nachhaltige Pflanzenproduktion, Spargelfeldstraße 191, 1220 Wien
  • Secretary
    Andreas BOHNER
    HBLFA Raumberg-Gumpenstein, Altirdning 11, 8952 Irdning-Donnersbachtal
  • Vice Secretary
    Veronika FORSTNER
    Universität Graz, Institut für Erdwissenschaften, Heinrichstraße 26, 8010 Graz
  • Treasurer
    Alexander EDER
    Bundesamt für Wasserwirtschaft, Institut für Kulturtechnik und Bodenwasserhaushalt, Pollnbergstraße 1, 3252 Petzenkirchen
  • Vice Treasurer
    Landwirtschaftskammer Steiermark, Landwirtschaftliche Umweltberatung, Hamerlinggasse 3, 8010 Graz


  • play_arrow
    Ordinary members - Application for membership

      Ordinary membership is free of charge. Ordinary members are informed about activities of the LRG and have voting rights in the General Assembly.

  • play_arrow
    Honorary members

    Honorary membership is awarded by the executive board for special services.

    Dr. Kurt Chytil Life time honorary membership awarded on 2003-04-29 (Dr. Chytil deceased in 2013)
    Dipl.-Phys. Dietmar Klotz Life time honorary membership awarded on 2005-04-04
    Ing. Diethelm Patter Life time honorary membership awarded on 2005-04-04
    Dr. Gerfried Eder Life time honorary membership awarded on 2007-04-17
    Dr. Klaus-Wenzel Becker Life time honorary membership awarded on 2007-04-17
    Hofrat Univ.-Prof. Dr. Eduard Klaghofer Life time honorary membership awarded on 2009-04-20 (Eduard Klaghofer deceased in 2020)
    Univ.-Prof. Dr. Hans Zojer Life time honorary membership awarded on 2009-04-20
  • play_arrow
    Scientific advisory board
    First name Surname Organisation
    Steffen BIRK Universität Graz, AT
    Peter CEPUDER Universität für Bodenkultur Wien, AT
    Wolfgang DURNER TU Braunschweig, DE
    Johann FANK JR-AquaConSol, Graz, AT
    Markus HERNDL HBLFA Raumberg-Gumpenstein, AT
    Steffi KNOBLAUCH Thüringer Landesanstalt für Landwirtschaft, DE
    Georg LEITINGER Universität Innsbruck, AT
    Ralph MEISSNER Helmholtz-Zentrum für Umweltforschung - UFZ, DE
    Volker PRASUHN Agroscope, CH
    Thomas PÜTZ Forschungszentrum Jülich, DE
    Sascha RETH UGT GmbH, DE
    Josef SPRINGER Landwirtschaftskammer Niederösterreich, AT
    Christine STUMPP Universität für Bodenkultur Wien, AT
    Georg VON UNOLD METER Group, DE
    Jozsef ZSEMBELI Karcag Research Institute, HU
  • play_arrow
    First name Surname Organisation
    Andreas KLIK Universität für Bodenkultur Wien, AT
    Hubert HOLZMANN Universität für Bodenkultur Wien, AT
  • play_arrow
    General assembly
    Takes place every second year. Ordinary and honorary members are entitled to vote.